I Want to Feel Better

I love Tempest ‘ s blog. I relate to her and look up to her as the accomplished and award winning blogger that she is.

In this post she has encapsulated addiction in a way that I have not been able to. Check out her blog. It’s really very good!

Nonsense & Shenanigans

There are two common questions I’m asked; two common answers I’ve spoken more times than I can count.

Why did you start using?

Because it was fun.

Why did you keep using?

Because I wanted to feel better.

Even if I didn’t feel bad, I wanted to feel better. Always bigger, always better, always more.

So when I was with Luke the other day and he asked, “Why do you keep doubling up on your meds?” I wasn’t the least bit surprised when “Because I want to feel better” came out.

That’s what everyone wants, isn’t it? To feel better. To feel good, all the time.

It’s no wonder an addict’s mind can’t differentiate the regular bad days from the end of the world.

And that’s my problem. My addict takes over when I don’t feel 100% and I just want to feel better.

I don’t know…

View original post 350 more words

Leave a Reply

